Conversation with Fear

Hello my friends,

Tomorrow is the big day!  The day I start this journey to 365 faces.  I have to be honest and say I had a small panic attack this morning thinking about how big this is for me.   I started doubting myself…Fear was loudly yelling at me “Who do you think you are? What if you Fail? What if you don’t improve? Everyone is going to laugh at you and call you silly for even trying”

One of the things I learned about fear from reading “Big Magic” is that fear can be a good thing…it keeps us alive.  However fear can not tell the difference between things that are truly dangerous and things that are new that we are unsure about or excited about.

I had a “conversation” with fear.  I wrote in my art journal and talked my self down.  Here is just a bit of my conversation.  I reminded myself that I only have to do one day at at time.  That practice really does make progress.  I also asked my self what is the worst thing that can happen…..and the truth is nothing.  I reminded fear that I understand what it is feeling but it is not going to run the show.  I have decided that 2016 will be the year of courage not for fear.  

Here are 2 pieces that I finished yesterday.  The first girl “Stepping into the Light” was inspired by Juna Bigiaoni Art…the second is “New Day”  They where created with acrylic paint and pastels.

IMG_5010

“Stepping Into The Light”

IMG_5012

“New Day”

Thank you for coming with me on this journey!  Lets leave fear behind and enter 2016 with courageous hearts!

What do you do when fear starts yelling at you? What conversation would you have with fear?  Tell me in the comments below

 

 

4 thoughts on “Conversation with Fear

  1. Carol Crockett says:

    I’m not sure if I am commenting in the right area for the giveaway but I hope so! Your work is beautiful. I love the meaning you put into every painting and face.

    Like

  2. trubleuceroky says:

    Kudos to you Leanne!! I love your new blog and your new adventure. Fear…I always try to remind myself that much fear comes from the unknown. And the more we learn or educate ourselves, the more our fear disipates. I see this in my patients before surgery all the time. And as I tell them this and proceed to educate them the day befire, I swear I can actually see fear leaving their body thru the expressions on their faces. So it’s important I remember that for myself. All we can do is prepare and educate the best we can. That even goes for our worst fears we can think of, there’s even the worst events we couldn’t possibly prepare ourselves for (thinking of 2015). We can only face it and slowly get back up.

    Like

Leave a Reply

