Day 1: Study of Italian Master Antonello de Messina “The Virgin Annuciate”

Hello My Beautiful Friends!

I stumbled across this beautiful painting by  Italian Master Antonello de Messina “The Virgin Annuciate” and I was so drawn to it that I decided to do a study of her.  valueorig

I started by spending yesterday evening just looking at her.  Trying to see all the shades and shapes that make up her face.

The first step in creating her was doing a loose sketch of the shapes I saw in her face..I attached my computer to my TV so I could see all the details better.

Once I was happy with the sketch I took some acrylic paint and loosely painted the obvious values.  The colors I used where Winston & Newton Yellow Orchre, Liquitex Basics Titanium White, Burnt Umber, and Cerulean Blue. Finally I used a just a few spots of Amsterdam Naples Yellow Light.

Once the acrylic paint was completely dry I started adding more value by using Prismacolor NuPastels.  I went from dark to light still trying to be loose and not worry about the details.

Once I was satisfied that I had all the obvious lights and darks I I took my pastels and began really looking for all the subtle changes in tone and color.

Then disaster struck!  I some how made a huge dark line across her face.  After my initial panic I was able to add some colors and blend it mostly away.
IMG_5049

Finally I double checked my values and once I was satisfied I put a light spray of workable Fixative.  I will probably go back to her later tonight with fresh eyes to see if I missed any values and if not add another layer of fixative.  Tomorrow I will do several layers of spray-able varnish.

IMG_5048

I hope you like her.  I really loved making her.  A few things I learned from today is that fixing mistakes with pastels is not as difficult as I thought it would be.

I plan on also making her my last face as a way to see how much I have grown in a year.

1 down 364 more to go!

I would love to hear from you.   Considerate feedback is always welcome.  Tell me what you think?  Do you have any tips or advise?  Please tell me in the comments below what you think of her. 

4 thoughts on “Day 1: Study of Italian Master Antonello de Messina “The Virgin Annuciate”

  1. Deborah Walter says:

    Hi it’s beautiful, but it is a copy. You’re messing with a MASTER. YOU’RE NOT THE FIRST YOU WON’T BE THE LAST. I THINK YOU’RE A GOOD ARTIST, HAS A GOOD EYE FOR DETAILS. HERE’S THE DEAL, I BELIEVE YOU CAN CREATE YOUR OWN MASTERPIECE. YOU HAVE A PASSION FOR GREAT WORKS OF ART. LET YOUR OWN JUICES FLOW. I THINK YOU GOT WHAT IT TAKE.

    Like

    • leanneschuetzart says:

      Hi Deborah thank you for sharing your thoughts. One of the ways we grow as artists is to study the Masters. I know that my Verizon does not come close to the original but I learned a lot and that is the point.

      Like

Leave a Reply

