Day 7: Week 1 Wrap Up

Hello Friends!

Can you believe that we have already finished the first week of 2016?!?!  This has been an  amazing week and I have really enjoyed creating every day.  Today’s post is going to be a little different.  I am not going to go into detail about how I created today’s girl.  She was a quick intuitive piece that was so fun to make.

Here is the process of how I made her. day7And here she is completed. IMG_5277

 What I really want to talk to you about is the importance of community.  So many times as artists we tend to isolate our selves, because we create spend a lot of time working on our own piece.   I am an introvert so I get recharged by spending time alone and so I do believe there is beauty in having time for your self.

There is also beauty in community.  Having a community of artists who understand your struggle and can give you encouragement when you are feeling bad and the negative voice is screaming at you.  Community can also give you feedback and help you to see things in your art that you can’t see your self.

The piece I did “Follow your Curiosity” I loved her…but I could feel that it was just not finished, but I just did not know what to do.  So I went to a group that I am apart of called Artist Think, it is the creation of a very special and talented artist Carrie Brummer-Hanna .  It was then that Carrie and my friend Jenn of B Inspired called me out on my fear of dark values.

It was a bit painful at first but I knew they where right.  I also knew that if I am going to really be courageous this year that it has to be more then just lip service.  Here is the great thing, not only did they call me out on my fear but they gave me specific things I could do.  They gave me tips and tools on how to make the values darker.  So I started making things darker and I am so glad that I did…then I would take what I had worked on showed it to them.  They would kindly but firmly point out mistakes or things I could do differently.  The result was amazing.  I could have never done this my self, with out their feedback and encouragement.

I learned so much from this processes and I am incredibly thankful to Carrie and Jenn for offering their feedback and expertise. 

If you are interested in joining Artist think, You can click on the hyperlink above I will also add a link  at the bottom of the page.

I think it would be unfair of me to go any further, I if I don’t address the difference between Feedback and Criticism.  I don’t ask for feedback from just anyone.  People need to earn the right to tell you how to fix your art.  It needs to come from someone you trust….

Feedback gives you kind tools and ways to fix errors or things you can do better.  Feedback focus on the art and not you as a person or artist.  Criticism attacks you as an artist and a person, and offers no real way of improving.

I do my best to ignore criticism  all together. I always welcome feedback because it is how I learn.  Sometimes you will agree with the feedback and sometimes you won’t, and that is okay.  The important part of feedback is that you take a moment to consider their point of view and then see if you can apply it to your art.   My dear friends, please please do NOT take criticism into your heart, but do allow your self the gift of feedback. 

IMG_5278

Just a few things to wrap up this week and today’s post.  I am taking a year long class called “Let’s Face It”  hosted by the amazing Kara Bullock. On the days that I make a face from that class I will not post the steps out of respect for the teachers.  I will post links to their websites and Facebook pages.   There is still time to sign up!  (I do not get anything financially from having you take the class.  I just love it and really think it is going to be an amazing way to grow. The only thing I get is the pleasure of learning aside you)

There are so many amazing art groups on Facebook, and I hope you will join one or join me over at Artist Think.

Artist Think Facebook Group: https://www.facebook.com/groups/429663443868440/

Tell me what you think in the comments below…Do you think community is important? How has community helped you grow as an artist or a person?

4 thoughts on “Day 7: Week 1 Wrap Up

  1. Suzy says:

    There are so many blogs, groups, and communities online, which is wonderful for such immediate feedback. It’s hard to keep track of it all. The wonder of technology. You seem to have some truly supportive artist friends. But, I hope your not disappointed that you won’t be receiving feedback from me relating to art technique. Haha Just enjoyment.

    Like

Leave a Reply

