Day 29: A Hundred More Years

Hello Friends,

This morning as I was coming home from taking my daughter to school I was feeling pretty uninspired and then this song by Francesca Battistelli came on the radio.  As I was listening to the lyrics of the song I became so inspired to paint this girl.   Here is the YouTube Video of her Song.  I suggest listening to the song before seeing the finished girl, but you don’t have to.

I  started by painting the background.  Once the background was completely dry. I sketched her basic figure.  I also took white gesso and painted her face arms and legs so that she would not be a blue green when I started painting her features.  I did my best to keep her features loose.  I was attempting a more impressionist piece than realstic.

Next I took  white and black Neo Colors II and colored in her dress.  I took my white acrylic paint and blended the Neos.  I also added the shadows by her feet.

At this point I added more details to her face and gave her some hair.  I also added some of the lyrics from the song “A Hundred More Years”

I got a little stuck at this point about what I wanted to do with the rest of the background. So I reached out to my friend  Jenn from B Inspired.   She is a great friend, and she is my “art accountability buddy”   We both have goals for our art and every morning we talk about what our goals are and if we are doing what is necessary to reach them. We also offer each other feedback on our art and we bounce ideas off of each other.  I am so thankful for Jenn.  She helped to come up with the final details.

Here she is completed.  I hope you love her as much as I do. day29

Does music ever inspire you? How do you think we can use music to help us with our creativity?  Tell me in the comments below. 

2 thoughts on “Day 29: A Hundred More Years

Leave a Reply

