My new favorite Art Supply

Hello My Beautiful Friends,

The last several weeks I have been playing with my new favorite art supply.  It is something that I have had for a long time but never really used.  It is called India Ink.  I believe it was created for doing calligraphy but I started using it as watercolor.

I did these 2 in under 30 minuets as quick value studies.  It was super fun and made me wonder if I could what else I could do with the Ink.  This year I am apart of a mentor group with Deanna Strachan-Wilson and one of the things she encourages us to ask is “What if” and then use that to direct our art.

This “What If” has opened the flood gates of creative ideas.  Here are just a few pieces that I have done with the India Ink.

This was my first real attempt.  Not super great but I learned a lot through this process.

17884303_10154195703142142_4254170833529008645_n

Sunny Day

My second attempt was much more successful. I  just love how the red makes the black pop.  The red was another What If moment.  I am normally not so bold with my color choices.

FullSizeRender (9)

Beautifully Out of Place

And this piece I finished today.  I had a lot of fun playing with the values and allowing the Ink and water to do what it wanted to do.  So much about this process is about letting go of control.  You can’t really control water and ink like you can with acrylics.  You need to really think through where you are going to put your brush strokes and them let them be what they will be.

17798933_10154202845907142_5828639878794466364_n

“She Lives Poetry”

I also wanted to let you know a few other things that are going on.   I have decided to place my original art for sale on SoulHart.com  I am still growing and learning but I also need to be able to afford my art supplies.  The reason I chose to go with SoulHart is that 10% of the proceeds go to charity, and I just love that.   So while yes, I am selling my art it is not my main goal or objective and I feel that the creators of SoulHart and their values match up with mine.

I have also added a few prints to Fineartamerica.com check them out if you want too.  I won’t be doing a ton of prints but on the ones that the Originals have sold and there is a high demand I will add them there.

How are all of you doing?  I would love to hear from you!

2 thoughts on “My new favorite Art Supply

  1. Emily Lynn Downey says:

    Leanne, I love how your work is progressing! It’s been really fun watching you improve & evolve over the last year. I’ve been working with black & white lately too – it seems like it’s easier to get the values correct that way (lately my luck at mixing skin tones has been zilch). Thanks for sharing with us! 🙂

    Like

    • leanneschuetzart says:

      Thank you Emily, I also struggle with seeing values when they are in color. I learned a great tip from Jennifer Bonnetau…take a pic of your art on your phone and than edit it to black and white. It is a great way to check your values.

      Like

Leave a Reply

